Q15. Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the impact of remote business meetings and training sessions on employees has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to attending online business meetings and training sessions for workers, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that working people can benefit a great deal from participating in business meetings and training sessions on the Internet do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the introduction of distance business meetings and training sessions has revolutionised the way employees take part in them with greater ease regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, workers are able to save time as they do not need to commute to and from their workplaces. In fact, travelling to and from work often deprives workers of huge amounts of time and energy that would otherwise be spent on dedication to their occupations.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of partaking in remote business meetings and training sessions are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that employees are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their duties since they often have difficulty receiving instant feedback and advice from their co-workers, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance. Furthermore, if it were not for face-to-face business meetings and training sessions for workers, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their colleagues as well as senior managers helping them to develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. This is mainly because they are incapable of mingling with their workmates in person, which may hinder them from feeling a sense of belonging to their companies and enhancing their bonds.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of attending online business meetings and training sessions surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.