Q15. Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the question of whether online business meetings and training sessions are advantageous has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to holding business meetings and training sessions on the Internet, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that employees can benefit a great deal from attending remote business meetings and training sessions. Proponents of this argument insist that the introduction of distance business meetings and training sessions has revolutionised the way workers participate in them regardless of time and place. In other words, employees are capable of taking part in business meetings and training sessions anywhere and at any time with greater ease considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, working people are able to save time as commuting to and from work often deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on devotion to their duties, which enables them to concentrate more on their occupations.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of participating in online business meetings and training sessions are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that employees are more likely to have difficulty having a tight grasp of their work given that they are incapable of receiving instant feedback and advice from their colleagues, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance. Furthermore, if it were not for face-to-face meetings for employees, it would be nearly impossible for them to build a strong relationship with not only their colleagues but also senior managers who help them to acquire interpersonal skills that are beneficial for their careers. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace enables them to feel a sense of belonging and to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of attending online business meetings and training sessions surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.