Q4 Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of social media on individual people as well as society has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that humans and society are negatively affected by social networking services, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from developments in social platforms. Perhaps the principal advantage is that the advent of social media has revolutionised the way people communicate with one another regardless of time and place. To be more specific, users are capable of sending messages to their acquaintances anywhere and at any time through social networking services, such as Facebook and Instagram, enabling them to build strong relationships with each other. In addition, people are able to share their common interests with their friends and family members on social networking sites, which makes it possible for them to enhance their bonds. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that the introduction of social media impacts on the public in a positive way.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of social networking services merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that teenagers who are generally less likely to distinguish right from wrong are vulnerable to become exposed to crimes given that offenders are capable of targeting them by creating numerous fake profile with greater ease. This can even lead to an increase in abduction, doing harm to society. Furthermore, those who lack self-control can easily become addicted to social media. Excessive use of social networking services can prevent employees and students from concentrating on their work or studies, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their academic or work performance. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.