Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is believed that the Internet can bring bad effects on people and society. While this statement can be true, I would argue that social networking sites can offer both advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, the Internet has it is own beneficial effects on our society. It provides us with opportunities to study new things by ourselves. For example, English is one of the subjects that we can study by ourselves. There are plentiful dictionaries that can help students looks up the meaning of the words such as the Cambridge dictionary, or Oxford dictionary. I myself also use these dictionaries to understand the root meaning of English words when I am confused about lexical items. Not only English, but we can also learn to play some instruments like the piano via online lessons on Youtube. These free lessons are mostly understandable and we can apply this knowledge on the piano at our home.

On the other hand, social networking sites also have some drawbacks. If people use the Internet too much, they will become lazy. For instance, Individuals who spend most of their time on the Internet often get some physical and mental health problems such as obesity, shortsightedness, humpbackness, stress, or depression. These health problems are caused because of their inactive, they do not exercise, come out of the house, or expose themselves to the sunlight. Besides some health problems, using the Internet extravagant, people might not think, brainstorm, or be creative anymore. They may depend on which is exist before, using cooked materials, and a society can not develop with most of the people like this.

To sum up, while depending on the Internet may lead to some negative effects, I still believe that it could have greater benefits to our life.