It is much more convenient to watch a movie on television or computer than buying a ticket and going to the cinema. In the near future the popularity of cinemas will drastically decline.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that watching movies on television or computer is more convenient than watching at the cinema, and the popularity of the theatre will decline in the near future. From my point of view, I would with this statement, however, I believe that both watching on the television or computer and going to the cinema have their own advantages.

On the one hand, the popularity of the cinema can be highly reduced due to various reasons. The appearance of movie streaming platforms has more choices than the cinema, so people prefer watching on those platforms to the cinema. For example, some streaming platforms such as Netflix, or Disney + can give customers a better experience, they can access many types of films and they can also play and pause the movie whenever they want to not miss anything while watching movies at the cinema does not have a pause and it just play for a certain time. Besides, watching movies at the cinema can help people save a lot of money so they can stay at home and watch on television or the computer more. For instance, normally, in Vietnam, people have to pay for approximately 200.000 VND for a movie at the cinema. However, they can buy a Netflix account and watch many films of various categories such as comedy, or horror at nearly the same price.

On the other hand, cinema could remain their popularity as they still have better benefits than staying at home and watching movies on television or the computer. Firstly, the cinema normally have better facilities than our television or computers. For example, a theatre can have a louder sound system, the images, or effects is better, and a bigger screen can help people more engage into the movie. Secondly, watching at the cinema would be a better place than watching films on television or on the computer for people who want to hang out and have a good time together. For instance, when a group of friends or family members together watch a film at the cinema, they can experience the sound and the images better than watching on television or computers, and after that, they can discuss about the content together when going home. These memories would boost their emotions, and feelings, and leading to a tighter bond after hanging out together.