Q7. Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of long working hours has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that nations where employees devote a huge amount of time to their job are more likely to stimulate economic growth, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that longer working hours enable countries to invigorate economic progress. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that there are some nations experiencing economic success which were third world countries in the past owing to longer working hours. As an illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, the economy of South Korea has flourished for the last four decades given that the figure for its gross domestic product has skyrocketed more than 20 times. In fact, it turned out that the main reason for this phenomenon was South Korea's longest average working time amongst OECD countries.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that long working time is directly related to economic growth. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that although a large number of developed countries, such as Australia and New Zealand, have never forced their citizens to work incredibly hard, they are still wealthy. This is because they earn an astronomical amount of money by selling natural resources, including crude oil and gas, in global markets. Thus, they have never had the urgent need for long working hours, unlike a multitude of emerging nations suffering from a lack of raw materials. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.