Q4. Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Recently, the effect of social media has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that individual people as well as society are negatively affected by social networking services, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from developments in social platforms. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the introduction of social media has revolutionised the way people communicate with each other regardless of time and place given that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. To be more specific, users are capable of keep in touch with their friends and family members with greater ease anywhere and at any time. In addition, people are able to share their interests with their acquaintances, which makes possible for them to build a strong relationship with one another.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of social networking services merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that teenagers who are less able to distinguish right from wrong are more likely to become exposed to crimes considering that offenders are easily capable of sending messages to adolescents by creating numerous fake profiles on social media. This can even lead to an increase in abduction, exerting a detrimental influence on society. Furthermore, those who lack self control can easily become addicted to social media. Excessive use of social platforms often prevents employees and students from concentrating on their work or study, having a negative effect on their work or academic performance. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.