Q10. Developments in technology cause environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to solve environmental issues has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that people can combat environmental concerns by using technology, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that human beings should lead a simpler way of life in order to combat environmental problems. Proponents of this argument insist that an astronomical amount of CO2 released by personal vehicles poses a threat to the environment given that the excessive use of private vehicles causes air pollution as well as noise pollution, which prevents mankind from living a better life. In addition, a myriad of citizens produce a huge quantity of domestic waste, such as non-disposable plastic, accelerating the speed of global warming that can even give rise to climate change. This exerts a detrimental influence on living creatures, including numerous species of animals and plants, that play a vital role in biodiversity. Given these points, some people hold the view that changing our lifestyles into a simpler way, such as commuting to and from work by public transport and avoiding using plastic bags, can mitigate environmental degradation.

My opinion, however, is that using technology should take precedence over changing our lifestyles so as to address contemporary issues related to the environment. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that in this technologically advanced era, a myriad of businesses are investing a vast sum of money in the ways to utilise eco-friendly energy sources making it possible people to resolve environmental problems in an effective way. To exemplify, Tesla which is the leading company in the filed of the automobile industry released electric cars in global markets thanks to the advancement of technology. These cars are able to ameliorate the quality of air given that they do not generate carbon dioxide. Furthermore, the majority of developed countries across the globe have a predisposition to convert thermal power plants into other stations run by alternative energies, such as tidal power and solar power with the help of up-to-date technology. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that more emphasis should be placed on making use of technology than accepting simpler lifestyles in a bid to tackle environmental issues for the reasons discussed above.