Q10. Developments in technology cause environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to combat environmental issues has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that human beings should make use of technology in order to address environmental concerns, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that humans should change their lifestyles to a simpler way so as to deal with environmental problems do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that not only does a huge amount of CO2 emitted by personal vehicles accelerate the speed of global warming giving rise to climate change, but it also causes air pollution doing harm to people's physical and mental health. In addition, an astronomical quantity of non-disposable plastic waste produced by individuals prevents living creatures, including animals and plants, from living a better life. Given these points, some people hold the view that humans should accept a simpler way of life, such as avoiding using plastic bags and commuting to and from work by public transport, in a bid to cope with environmental problems.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on using technology than changing people's lifestyles to a simpler way in order to tackle contemporary issues related to the environment. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that a myriad of large companies are investing a vast sum of money in research to develop a way to utilise renewable energy in this technologically advanced era. As an illustration, Tesla which is the most famous business in the automobile industry could release electric vehicles in the market thanks to technological progress. These vehicles have ameliorated the quality of air as they do not generate carbon dioxide. Furthermore, a multitude of countries across the globe have a predisposition to replace thermal power plants with power stations operated by solar power and tidal power with the help of up-to-date technology. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that technology can devise solutions to environmental problems for the reasons discussed above.