Q10. Developments in technology cause environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to deal with environmental issues has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that human beings should make use of technology in order to combat environmental concerns, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that humans should change their lifestyles in a simple way so as to handle green issues do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that an astronomical amount of CO2 emitted by personal vehicles results in air pollution, which causes harm to people's physical and mental health. In addition, excessive use of non-disposable plastic accelerates the speed of global warming that can even give rise to climate change, preventing living creatures, including humans and animals, from leading a better life. Given these points, some people hold the view that individuals should accept simple lifestyles, such as avoiding using plastic bags and commuting to and from work by public transport, to address environmental problems.

My opinion, however, is that mankind should make use of technology in order to cope with contemporary issues related to the environment. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that in this technologically advanced era, a great number of large companies are investing a vast sum of money in research in a bid to develop a way to utilise renewable energy, including electricity, lessening environmental degradation. As an illustration, Tesla which is the most notable firm in the automobile industry could release private vehicles using electricity as an energy source in the market owing to technological progress, These cars are able to ameliorate the quality of air given that they do not generate carbon dioxide. Furthermore, the majority of developed countries across the globe have a predisposition to convert thermal power plants into other stations run by alternative energies, such as tidal power and solar power with the help of up-to-date technology. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that forcing ordinary people to have a simpler way of life should be discouraged as the development of technology can help people devise solutions to environmental problems for the reasons discussed above.