Q7. Schools should teach children some academic subjects which will be beneficial to their future careers. Therefore, other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that more emphasis should be placed on core subjects, such as science and mathematics, than other subjects, including art and music as they are directly related to youngsters' future careers, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that studying academic subjects should be a priority. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that having a tight grasp of science and mathematics allows people to land well-paying and prestigious occupations with greater ease given that in this technologically advanced era, there are a multitude of employment opportunities in the field of science and technology. Furthermore, science and technology graduates play a vital role in solving serious contemporary issues of humans, including environmental problems. As an illustration, Tesla which is the most notable firm in the field of the automobile industry could release electric cars because employees who majored in science and technology developed the way up-to-date technology, exerting a positive influence on human beings since electric vehicles do not generate carbon dioxide.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that teaching core subjects should precedence over other subjects. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from receiving art education and physical education. To be more specific, primary school students and secondary schools are capable of developing self-expression as well as creativity by attending art classes. In addition, participating in physical activities makes it possible for young individuals to acquire social skills by mingling with their peers. Moreover, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for physical education classes, a large number of pupils would be more likely to have difficulty alleviating stress, which can even have a negative impact on their academic performance. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.