Q6. Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that students should receive mixed education, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that pupils should be taught in separate schools do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that single-sex education makes it possible for minors to concentrate more on their studies given that they are generally not distracted by the opposite sex by paying attention to their appearance. Furthermore, teenagers are capable of sharing their common interests with like-minded friends with greater ease, which can even lead them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to build a strong relationship with one another.

My opinion, however, is that the benefits of mixed schooling are more significant. Perhaps the principal advantage is that mixed schools enables students to know the importance of how to behave properly towards the opposite gender. In addition, adolescents who participated in mixed schools have a predisposition to become more open-minded to others, which exerts a positive influence on society. To be more specific, those who are accustomed to accepting diversity can play a vital role in the development of society as they have less difficulty embracing cultural diversity in the era of globalisation. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that receiving mixed education should be required for the reasons discussed above.