Q20. Over the last few decades there has been an increase in international tourism Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism should not be discouraged as it exerts a positive influence on local communities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a boom in global tourism. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the development of the tourism industry can boost economic growth as it attracts investment from multinational corporations and governments across the globe. In addition, tourism creates a myriad of employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructure, including railways and roads, which makes it possible for local resident to land an occupation with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for global tourism, there would be much higher unemployment rates in a multitude of well-known cities amongst travellers, such as Paris and Venice.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of international tourism sectors merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a rise in global tourism poses a threat to the environment since a huge number of overseas visitors produce an astronomical amount of waste. As an illustration, one natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had numerous endangered species of birds. However, the majority of these species became extinct in the year 2010 due to a vast quantity of garbage generated by foreign travellers which took a heavy toll on the natural habitat. Furthermore, some overseas tourists commit vandalism, which places a financial burden on local governments as they have to spend a huge amount of money restoring damaged facilities. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.