Q3 : Human activities have negative effects on plants and animal species. Some people think that it is too late to do anything about this problem. Other people believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the impact of human activities on animals and plants has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that if human beings make an effort, they are able to prevent living creatures, including animals and plants, from disappearing, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people cannot make it possible for animals and plants not to become extinct do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that human beings have exploited a myriad of natural habitats for themselves without taking into account environmental degradation. As an illustration, a natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had various endangered species of birds in 2010. However, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 70% of these species died out in 2015, and it turned out that the main reason for this phenomenon was a huge amount of garbage generated by a large number of travellers which posed a threat to the local environment.

My opinion, however, is that mankind is capable of keeping biodiversity. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that not only are a multitude of governments across the globe investing a vast sum of money in order to mitigate global warming doing harm to animals and plants, but they are also implementing numerous campaigns so as to warn of the dangers of the extinction of animals and plants. In addition, individuals can play a vital role in the protection of animals and plants. To provide a hypothetical example, if plenty of everyday people participate in recycling, an astronomical quantity of domestic waste would be reduced, which would enable both animals and plants from living a longer life. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that if every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, human beings are able to conserve numerous species of animals and plants for the reasons discussed above.