Q1 Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of global tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that tourism should not be discouraged as the development of global tourism exerts a positive influence on local communities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a rise in global tourism. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the advancement of the tourism industry can stimulate economic growth in local countries considering that tourism attracts investment from international corporations and governments. In addition, tourism creates a multitude of employment opportunities in building facilities and updating infrastructures, including railways and roads, which makes it possible for local residents to land a job with greater ease.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that a rise in the tourism sector merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that developments in global tourism pose a threat to the local environment. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had a myriad of endangered species of birds. However, the majority of these species became extinct in 2010 as numerous overseas visitors produced a huge amount of garbage, which caused damage to that habitat. Furthermore, some foreign travellers have a predisposition to commit vandalism, which places a heavy financial burden on local governments since they have to spend astronomical amounts of money in restoring damaged tourist attractions. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.