Q20. Over the last few decades there has been an increase in international tourism Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Recently, the question of whether the growth of global tourism is advantageous has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism should not be discouraged as it exerts a positive influence on local communities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a boom in global tourism. Perhaps the principal benefit is that tourism attracts investment from international corporations and governments across the globe, helping local communities to invigorate economic progress. In addition, global tourism creates numerous well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructure, such as railways and roads, which makes it possible for local residents to lend an occupation with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for global tourism, there would be much higher unemployment rates in a multitude of well-known cities amongst overseas visitors, such as Paris and Venice, considering that economies in these cities revolve around tourist spending.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that a rise in global tourism merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a myriad of foreign travellers pose a threat to the local environment. As an illustration, a natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had numerous endangered species of birds playing a vital role in keeping biodiversity in the year 2010. However, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 70% of these species became extinct due to an astronomical quantity of waste generated by overseas tourists, which took a heavy toll on the natural habitat. Furthermore, some foreign visitors often commit vandalism, placing a heavy burden on local governments since they have to spend a vast sum of money restoring damaged amenities. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.