Q12 : Modern children are suffering from the diseases that were once considered to be meant for adults only. Obesity is a major disease prevalent among children. what are the causes of this and what solutions can you suggest?

Recently, an increase in childhood obesity rates has become the subject of heated debate. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, such as unhealthy eating habits, and various measures could be taken to alleviate this issue, including launching a campaign. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this undesirable trend, and present some solutions to the problems.

There do seem to be numerous causes underlying this phenomenon. Perhaps the most oft-cited cause is that a multitude of teenagers are addicted to junk food containing high fats and sugars in modern society, which exerts a detrimental influence on their health. This is partly because a myriad of fast-food chains are easily available anywhere. Another fundamental cause is that numerous primary and secondary school students often deprive themselves of a chance to take part in physical activities making it possible for them to keep fit given that in this fiercely competitive society, the majority of the youth put too much pressure on themselves in order to ameliorate their academic performance.

There are, however, several courses of action that both the government and individuals could take to address the root cause of the problems. The most practical solution to this problem is a government-sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could warn of the dangers of young people's obesity and hopefully, raise awareness amongst the public. For example, South Korea recently lobbied their adolescents to eat five portions of fruits and vegetables per day and this resulted in a dramatic decrease in youngsters' obesity rates. A second feasible solution would be for parents to participate in physical activities with their offspring at weekends. To provide a hypothetical example, If a large number of parents spend time taking exercise with their children on a regular basis, youngsters would be more likely to become healthier.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems have resulted from diverse causes suggested above and can be tackled with various steps. If every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.