Q4 Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Recently, the question of whether living overseas is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that residing in a country where a foreign language is spoken can result in practical and social issues, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that dwelling abroad causes problems for individuals. Perhaps the most pressing problem is that being forced to speak in a second language makes it difficult for people to deal with their small daily tasks, such as doctor's appointments and shopping, which can increase the level of their stress. In addition, the language barrier can prevent people from connecting with foreigners, leading to misunderstandings as well as cultural conflict that exerts a detrimental influence on society.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that living in an overseas nation merely brings with it negatives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that those who live abroad can have a chance to ameliorate foreign language skills that will be invaluable in their future career. To be more specific, multilingual individuals are more likely to find well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities with greater ease in a job market given that the majority of large companies have a predisposition to hire job seekers who are proficient in a language other than their mother tongue in the era of globalisation. Furthermore, mingling with foreigners allows individuals to have a deeper understanding of cultural diversity and to become aware of the importance of respecting people from different backgrounds. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.