Q21 Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should not be required to undertake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from mandatory volunteering for teenagers. Perhaps the principal benefit is that taking part in voluntary activities makes it possible for adolescents to become aware of the importance of helping socially disadvantaged people. As a result, not only can they minors feel a sense of belonging to society, but they are also capable of enhancing social bonds. Another advantage is that pupils are able to develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers given that the majority of companies have a predisposition to hire job seekers having social skills.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that obligatory voluntary work for youngsters merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that being forced to partake in voluntary work often leads the youth to experience high levels of stress. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for obligatory voluntary activities for teenage boys and girls, they would be more likely to participate in a wide range of leisure activities allowing them to alleviate stress, such as football and online games. Furthermore, depriving them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on dedication to their studies can exert a detrimental influence on their academic performance. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.