Q11 Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, animal protection has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dealing with issues of humans should take priority over preserving animals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that the conservation of animals should take precedence over handling problems of human beings do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the protection of animals plays a vital role in keeping biodiversity that is invaluable. To provide a hypothetical example, if the food chain and ecosystem are destroyed, numerous endangered species of animals would disappear, which would exert a detrimental influence on human beings who are on the top of the food chain.

My opinion, however, is that there are a number of serious global issues on which more emphasis should be placed than the preservation of animals in the globalisation era since these issues are directly related to the quality of people's lives. Perhaps the pressing problem is global warming given that a myriad of citizens across the globe are suffering from the detrimental effects of global warming. To be more specific, not only can it give rise to climate change, but it also often hinders human beings from having an improved standard of living. Another grave issue is global hunger as it is directly linked to individuals' survival. As a brief illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 17% of the world's population died due to poverty in the year 2015. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that coping with issues related to mankind should be a top priority for the reasons discussed above.