Q11 Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, animal protection has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dealing with issues of humans should take precedence over preserving animals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that human beings should prevent animals from disappearing do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the conservation of animals plays a vital role in keeping biodiversity that is invaluable. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for making an effort to save animals, the food chain and ecosystem would be destroyed due to the extinction of numerous endangered species of animals, exerting a detrimental influence on human beings who are on the top of the food chain.

My opinion, however, is that there are a number of important global issues which more emphasis should be placed on than the preservation of animals given that hindering animals from going extinct is not directly related to individuals' daily lives. Perhaps the most pressing problem is global warming as a myriad of citizens across the globe are suffering from it. This is because not only does it give rise to climate change, but it also prohibits ordinary people from having an improved standard of living. Another grave issue is global hunger since it is directly linked to people's survival. As a brief illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 17% of the world's population died out in the year 2015 due to poverty. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that combating global issues should take priority over the protection of animals for the reasons discussed above.