Q23. In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to expend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that reforming current public transport should take precedence over building new railway systems for bullet trains, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from establishing new railway lines for bullet trains do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that bullet trains could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and people. To be more specific, not only can people with relatives in other parts of the country frequently meet each other , but parcels are also able to be delivered quickly. In addition, the introduction of bullet trains can create a myriad of employment opportunities in building numerous facilities related to bullet train systems, enabling citizens to lend an occupation with greater ease.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on ameliorating the existing public transport system than setting up new railway lines for bullet trains. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that current public transport systems play a greater role in people's daily life given that a myriad of everyday people commuting to and from work or school by metro and bus. Thus, the updating of current public transport makes it possible for the public to have an improved standard of living. Furthermore, an astronomical quantity of money is required to erect new railway lines for bullet train, placing a financial burden on the government. As an illustration, according to an article released by the Beijing Times, the amount of tax money spent in forging new railway lines for bullet trains is predicted three times higher than upgrading current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that enhancing current public transport should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.