Q18. Developing countries require help offered by international organizations to ensure healthy and sustainable development. Some people think that financial aid is important. Others believe that practical aid and advice is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to support less-developed countries has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that practical assistance and advice

for emerging nations should take precedence over monetary help, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim there are a number of advantages that can be derived from monetary support for third world countries do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that receiving financial support from global foundations enables developing countries to build infrastructures helping them to invigorate economic growth, such as railways and roads. In addition, a myriad of citizens in Africa who are suffering from poverty can benefit a great deal from monetary assistance. If it were not for financial assistance, they would have difficulty living a better life.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on practical support and technical advice than financial help. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that although it seems beneficial for developing countries to get an astronomical amount of money from global institutions in the short term, relying on monetary support causes them to become more dependent on other countries in the long term. Thus, receiving only advice and invaluable knowledge can prevent them from being exploited by first world countries. In addition, the majority of emerging countries are experiencing high levels of corruption. If third world countries acquire numerous useful pieces of advice from experts in global organisations, this phenomenon will be alleviated. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that practical advice and assistance should be a top priority for the reasons discussed above.