Q18. Developing countries require help offered by international organizations to ensure healthy and sustainable development. Some people think that financial aid is important. Others believe that practical aid and advice is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Recently, the question of how to support emerging countries has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that practical help and advice for third world nations should take precedence over monetary support, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from receiving financial aid do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that acquiring an astronomical amount of money from global foundations enables less-developed nations to build infrastructure helping them to invigorate economic growth, such as railways and roads. In addition, a myriad of citizens suffering from a lack of the availability of basic necessities, such as balanced meals and primary education, due to poverty are able to have an improved standard of living by receiving monetary support from global institutions.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on practical assistance and technical advice than monetary help. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that although it seems beneficial for developing countries to gain a vast sum of money from international foundations in the short term, relying on monetary support leads them to become more dependent on developed nations. Thus, there is a high possibility that emerging countries can be exploited by first world countries. Furthermore, the majority of less-developed countries are experiencing a high level of corruption. If they receive numerous pieces of invaluable advice from experts in international foundations, this phenomenon will be alleviated. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that receiving practical assistance and advice should be a top priority for the reasons discussed above.