Q1. Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the conversion of green spaces near the central area of the city into residential buildings has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities around the central business district by housing estates in order to reduce the time dedicated to commuting to and from work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that people should not remove green places close to the city centre so as to build apartment blocks do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks around the central area of the city makes it possible for employees to take a rest helping them to unwind during their lunchtime with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for gardens and parks near the city centre, a multitude of working people would have difficulty alleviating stress, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to substitute apartment complexes for environment-friendly amenities near the central business district. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a myriad of workers residing near the city centre travel to their workplaces by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from traffic congestion, enabling the masses to have an improved standard of living. This is because the number of personal vehicles on roads would remarkably decrease. Moreover, depriving commuters of less time devoted to travelling to work allows them to concentrate more on their occupations. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the transformation of environmentally friendly places near the city centre into housing estates is necessary for the reasons discussed above.