Q1. Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the conversion of green spaces near the central area of the city into residential buidlings has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities, such as gardens and parks, close to the central business district by housing estates in order to reduce time devoted to commuting to work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should preserve environmentally friendly amenities near the city centre do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that gardens and parks close to the city centre enable numerous workers to take a rest helping them to unwind during their lunchtime. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for gardens and parks for employees, they would have difficulty alleviating stress, exerting a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to substitute a multitude of apartment blocks for environment-friendly places close to the city centre. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a myriad of working people residing near the central business district travel to their workplace by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from traffic congestion, making it possible for the public to have an improved standard of living. This is because the number of personal vehicles on roads would decrease remarkably. In addition, depriving commuters of less time devoted to travelling to work results in employees concentrating more on their occupations. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that demolishing green areas around the city centre in a bid to construct apartment complexes is necessary for the reasons discussed above.