Q11 Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, animal protection has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dealing with problems of humans should take precedence over conserving animals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that the preservation of animals should take priority over solving issues related to human beings do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that preventing animals from disappearing plays a vital role in keeping biodiversity that is invaluable. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for making an effort to preserve numerous endangered species of animals, the ecosystem and food chain would be destroyed, which would exert a detrimental influence on human beings who are on the top of the food chain.

My opinion, however, is that there are a number of important global issues which more emphasis should be placed on than the conservation of animals in this globalisation era given that hindering animals from going extinct is not directly related to people's daily lives. Perhaps the most pressing problem is global warming as a multitude of citizens across the globe are suffering from global warming because not only does it accelerate the speed of climate change, but it also hinders everyday people from having an improved standard of living. Another grave issue is global hunger since it is directly linked to individuals' survival. As a brief illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 17% of the world's population died due to poverty in 2015. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that tackling problems of human beings should be a top priority for the reasons discussed above.