Q11 Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, animal protection has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dealing with issues of humans should take precedence over the conservation of animals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that mankind should prevent numerous species of animals from being extinct do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that humans benefit a great deal from animal conservation given that the preservation of animals plays a vital role in keeping biodiversity. To provide a hypothetical example, if a large number of endangered species of animals disappear, the food chain and ecosystem would be destroyed, which would exert a detrimental influence on human beings who are on the top of the food chain.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on combating contemporary problems related to human beings than protecting animals. Perhaps the most pressing problem is global warming that can even give rise to climate change given that it causes damage to the quality of life. Thus, if human beings mitigate the speed of global warming, a myriad of citizens across the globe would be more likely to have an improved standard of living. Another graving issue is global hunger since it is directly linked to humans' lives. As a brief illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, approximately 17 % of the world's population died out due to the poverty. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that solving problems of human beings should take priority over hindering animals from going extinct for the reasons discussed above.