Q12 : The spread of multinational companies and the increase of globalization produces positive effects for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, a rise in the number of international corporations has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that a growth in international companies in the era of globalisation positevely affects individuals, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that ordinary people can reap a myriad of advantages from the development of international corporations. Perhaps the principal benefit is that international businesses who have branches in local countries can stimulate economic growth in local

nations. This is because they create numerous employment opportunities, leading locals to find well-paying occupations with greater ease. Furthermore, from the customers' point of view, they are more likely to have an improved standard of living thanks to increased options, meaning that they are capable of purchasing a variety of global products in the market. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of globalisation.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the advancement of global businesses merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that local nations can suffer from brain drain given that the majority of international corporations have a predisposition to provide higher salaries and more perks for their employees. Therefore, domestic firms can have difficulty hiring competent job seekers, which often prevent them from competing with international corporations. In addition, international businesses can give rise to cultural conflicts since some of them are inclined to enter local markets without thoroughly investigating local policies and environments. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.