Q12 : The spread of multinational companies and the increase of globalization produces positive effects for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of an increase in the number of international corporations on ordinary people has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that everyday people are positively affected by the growth of international firms in the era of globalisation, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a rise in the number of global businesses. Perhaps the principal benefit is that international companies having branches in local countries enable them to invigorate economic success considering that global firms often create a myriad of prestigious employment opportunities, making it possible for local residents to lend an occupation with greater ease. In addition, from the customers' point of view, they are provided more choices. This means that customers are capable of purchasing a wide range of global products with greater ease, which helps them to have an improved standard of living.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that a climb in the number of international corporations merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that local nations are more likely to suffer from brain drain given that domestic firms often have difficulty finding competent employees. This is mainly because the majority of global corporations have a predisposition to hire competent job seekers by providing higher salaries and more perks than local businesses. Furthermore, some international corporations are inclined to enter local markets without thoroughly investigating policies and schemes related to their business in order to maximise their profits, which can even cause cultural conflicts. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.