Q2: Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people’s education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should be obliged to undertake community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from mandatory voluntary activities for teenagers. Perhaps the principal benefit is that attending voluntary work makes it possible for the youth to learn the importance of supporting socially disadvantaged people, which enables them to feel a sense of belonging to local society and strengthen social bonds. In addition, adolescents are capable of developing interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers given that the majority of large corporations have a predisposition to hire job seekers who are good at empathising with others. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that young individuals can reap a myriad of advantages from obligatory volunteering.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that mandatory voluntary work merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that being forced to partake in voluntary activities can exert a detrimental influence on students’ academic performance as devotion to these activities often prevents pupils from spending a huge amount of time to revise for their exams. Furthermore, a multitude of youngsters are more likely to experience high levels of stress as voluntary work can deprive teenage boys and girls of a chance to participate in leisure activities helping them to unwind. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.