Q7. Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of average working time on the economy has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that longer working hours can stimulate economic growth, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that countries where citizens devote long working time to their work are more likely to boost economic success. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that there are some nations, experiencing economic progress, which were less-developed countries in the past thanks to long working hours. As an illustration, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, the economy of South Korea has flourished given that the gross domestic product of South Korea has skyrocketed more than 20 times over the last three decades. In fact, it turns out that the main reason for this phenomenon is the longest working time amongst OECD countries.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that having longer working time is the sole way to invigorate the economy. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that although a multitude of developed nations, such as Australia and New Zealand, have never forced their citizens to spend a huge amount of time on their occupations, they are still wealthy. This is mainly because these countries earn an astronomical amount of money by selling invaluable raw materials, including crude oil and gas, in the global market. Thus, they have never had the urgent need for long working hours, unlike a number of emerging countries suffering from a lack of natural resources. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.