Q14. Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of whether remote education is beneficial or not has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to earning bachelor's or master's degrees through online education, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that university or college students can benefit a great deal from receiving tertiary education on the Internet do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that remote learning has revolutionised the way students attending their classes regardless of time and place. To be more specific, students are capable of taking lectures with greater ease anywhere at any time considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, receiving education on the Internet enables students to concentrate more on their studies since commuting to and from school often deprives students of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on devotion to their studies.

My opinion, however, is that the disadvantages of online university or college education are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that students can struggle to have a tight grasp of their majors given that distance learning prevents students from acquiring instant feedback and advice from their professors. This means that students are more likely to have difficulty revising for their subjects and dealing with their assignments, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their academic performance, Furthermore, if it were not for face-to-face lectures for students, they would be incapable of mingling with their colleagues as well as senior students in person who help them to building strong relationships with one another. Therefore, students can have trouble in developing interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of online university or college education surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.