Q25. Some people say Hisotry is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that science and technology education should take precedence over history education, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that learning history should be a priority as a school subject do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that receiving history education makes it possible for people not to commit the same mistakes in the past, such as imperialism and colonisation. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for history education for adolescents, they would be less likely not only to feel a sense of belonging to our society but also to have patriotism.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on science and technology education than history education. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that having a tight grasp of science and technology will beneficial for students' future careers given that pupils having a deeper understanding of science and technology will be more likely to lend a decent occupation with greater ease. This is because there are a myriad of well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities in the field of science and technology in this technologically advanced era. Furthermore, youngsters who are proficient in science and technology will be capable of playing a vital role in devising solutions to contemporary issues related to the environment, such as global warming, climate change, and air pollution, meaning that they will exert a positive influence on the development of society. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that science and technology education for students should take precedence over history education for the reasons discussed above.