Q9 : A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. What do you think?

Recently, the use of animals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that human beings do not make use of animals in order to meet their needs, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from animal use. Perhaps the principal benefit is that livestock can provide essential nutrients, such as protein and fat, for humans, allowing them to lead a healthy life. In addition, cures for various illnesses have been developed by conducting animal tests. To exemplify, research performed by Seoul National University has demonstrated that scientists have found the way to overcome heart disease owing to experiments on pigs. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that animal use is necessary.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that utilising animals merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the majority of tests on animals often infringe animal rights considering that these are implemented in a barbaric way, exerting a detrimental influence on physical and mental health of animals. Furthermore, there is a possibility of catastrophic dangers, which humans can face, arising from animal experimentation. This means that a multitude of genetic features of animals are different from those of mankind. Thus, some results stemming from animal experiments can not guarantee that these can fully apply to humans. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.