A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Some people believe that animal exploitation should be prohibited as animals also have similar feelings as humans, whereas the opponents of this perspective want to utilize animals to meet a variety of their requirements such as food and study. In my view, both approaches offer numerous merits and are worthy of full attention but it would be better to employ animals appropriately and effectively to improve our quality of life.

On the one hand, some people argued that laws should protect animals since they share the same rights as people and must coexist with them on the planet. First and foremost, we should respect them and refrain from acting in a way that would endanger their survival if they don't do anything detrimental or destructive to human life. Animals undoubtedly contribute to the diversity of our environment and the ecological balance of our ecosystem. Secondly, some animals are our good friends from a long time ago. For example, dogs and cats can live with people as their friends and make us happy and safe. Eventually, dogs can help people hunt and play as guards to protect poultry on farms. Besides pets, dolphins are often believed to be friendly because they save people who have accidents in the sea.

On the other hand, it would be more beneficial if we could responsibly use animals for particular reasons such as food sources and study. Firstly, animals should be used wisely to supply enough nutrition for our daily diet. Without consuming fish and meat, we cannot maintain our muscles and our energy levels. Second, some investigations that couldn't be done on humans should be successfully conducted on animals. For instance, rats and rabbits are frequently employed in vaccine research to assist humans in determining the best vaccine against major diseases including malaria, HIV, flu, and especially Covid-19.

In conclusion, although animals should have the same rights as humans have, in my opinion, human life is far more important. If animals are not used for research and food, humans will fail in developing various life-saving drugs in the future and many people will not get food in climatically hostile areas of the earth. Finally, humans should protect them from illegal hunting and we exploit them in a proportionate way.