QQ1 : Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in traveling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of converting green spaces to residential areas near the central area of cities has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that transforming eco-friendly places, such as gardens and parks, into residential buildings close to the city centre in order to reduce the amount of time devoted to commuting to and from work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove environment-friendly facilities so as to build skyscrapers for citizens do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks near the city business district makes it possible for employees to take a rest with greater ease in during lunchtime, helping them to unwind. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for parks and gardens close to the city centre, a multitude of working adults in the city area would have difficulty alleviating the level of stress, which could exert a negative influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that constructing a myriad of apartments close to the city centre to accommodate citizens is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic. Perhaps the most convincing reason is that if a huge number of people of working age living near the city travel to their work by foot or bike since they dwell in the area not far from their workplaces, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to experience traffic congestion considering that the number of cars on roads would remarkably decrease, and this phenomenon has a positive impact on citizens' standard of living. Moreover, depriving commuters of less time dedicated to travel to work can allow employees to more focus on their employment, In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that destroying green areas near the city centre and building apartments are beneficial for our society for the reasons discussed above.