Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, whether global tourism is advantageous or not has become a fiercely controversial issue. Some people assert that international tourism is helpful to local societies because of its benefits, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that the tourism industry exerts positive effects on local societies. An obvious advantage is that the travel sector usually enables residents who live in tourist cities to obtain more employment opportunities, compared to others in common cities. In addition, it often leads to economic growth in a multitude of tourist cities, such as Paris, London and Venice. To exemplify, one recent study conducted by a university in France illustrates that the gross regional domestic product of Paris has increased since it has become a well-known city among travelers. Researchers analyzed a number of causes of this social phenomenon and the main cause turned out to be tourism. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of global tourism.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the tourist industry merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the number of tourists who commit acts of vandalism has increased. To illustrate, a notable cultural heritage site, which is located in South Korea, designated by UNESCO had a myriad of bird species in the past. However, most of them disappeared after many tourists, who did not preserve the environment in that area, visited that place. Furthermore, some tourist cities’ economy revolves around the money spent by tourists. Thus, the hospitality industry plays an important role in local cities, which cause some local residents to be less likely to adapt to this change. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.