Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of history education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that more emphasis should be placed on history as a school subject than science and technology, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the latter stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that teaching history is more crucial than science and technology do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that pupils can know our ancestors' misbehaviour, preventing people from committing the same mistakes that happened in the past, such as imperialism and colonisation. Furthermore, human beings have to take responsibility for bequeathing our history to future generations considering that learning history makes it possible for them not only to feel a sense of belonging to society but also to have patriotism.

My opinion, however, is that youngsters benefit a lot more from being educated about science and technology. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that science graduates are more likely to find well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities in the job market with greater ease considering that these people are more in demand in this technologically-advanced era. Another convincing reason is that having deeper understandings of huge amounts of knowledge related to these enables mankind to devise a multitude of groundbreaking solutions to contemporary problems that humans face. As an illustration, people who have a tight grasp of science and technology can lessen the impact of climate change and save numerous people suffering from global hunger. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that studying science and technology should be prioritised for the reasons discussed above.