Q15: Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of remote education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to receiving tertiary education on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that university and college students can benefit a great deal from distance education. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way people can attend their class regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, students are capable of saving time as commuting to and from school deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on their studies.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that earning a bachelor's or master's degree on the Internet merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the principal drawback is online classes prevent students from obtaining instant feedback from their professors in person, which often leads them to have difficulty revising for their exams. In other words, a multitude of students are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their majors, exerting a detrimental influence on their academic performance. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face lectures for students, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their classmates as well as senior students helping them develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. To be more specific, mingling with others at university enables students not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that getting certificates from participating in classes on the Internet for the reasons discussed above.