Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should be forced to undertake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from obligatory volunteering for teenagers. Perhaps the principal benefit is that teenage boys and girls can develop skills that will be invaluable in their studies and future career, meaning that they can gain responsibility as well as social skills. To be more specific, not only can pupils strengthen social bonds, but they are also able to feel a sense of belonging to our society. In addition, adolescents who have experience of voluntary activities will be more likely to find well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities with greater ease owing to their communication skills considering that the majority of large companies have a predisposition to hire employees who have the ability to empathise with others.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that voluntary work merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the youth often experience high levels of stress since devotion to volunteering deprives students of a chance to partake in leisure activities that help them let off steam. Furthermore, obliged to participate in volunteering exerts a negative influence on pupils' academic performance. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for mandatory community service, young people could spend a huge amount of time revising for the exam. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.