Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of young people's education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that secondary school students should not be obliged to undertake unpaid community service, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, there are a number of advantages that can be derived from obligatory volunteering for teenagers. Perhaps the principal benefit is that teenage boys and girls can develop skills that will be invaluable in their studies and future career, meaning that they can gain responsibility as well as social skills. To be more specific, not only can pupils strengthen social bonds, but they are also able to feel a sense of belonging to our society. Furthermore, adolescents who have experience of voluntary activities will be more likely to find well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities with greater ease considering that the majority of large firms have a tendency to hire employees who have the ability to empathise with others.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that mandatory volunteering merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that there is a high possibility that youngsters experience high levels of stress considering that devotion to voluntary work deprives them of a chance to participate in leisure activities that help them let off steam. In addition, being forced for the youth to partake in voluntary activities exerts a negative influence on their academic performance. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for compulsory volunteering, young people could spend huge amounts of time and energy revising for the exam. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.