Q3 Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Recently, the question of whether living overseas is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that moving to a nation where a foreign language is spoken can result in social and practical issues, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that residing abroad and speaking in a second language cause problems for individuals. Perhaps the most pressing problem is that being forced to communicate in a language other than one’s mother tongue often makes it difficult for people to deal with their small daily tasks, such as doctor’s appointments and shopping, which can lead them to experience high levels of stress. Another grave issue is that the language barrier prevents speakers of different languages from connecting with one another, giving rise to misunderstandings and even cultural conflicts.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that dwelling overseas merely brings with it negatives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that not only can those who have resided in a foreign country become proficient in other languages, but they also have a predisposition to have a tight grasp of foreign cultures, exerting a positive influence on their future career. To exemplify, one recent study conducted by Seoul National University has demonstrated that individuals who have resided overseas are more likely to find well-paying employment opportunities with greater ease than their monolingual counterparts in South Korea. This is because communication skills play a vital role in large corporations given that their business revolves around global trade. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.