Q : Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism benefits local communities a great deal and should not be discouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the development of global tourism. Perhaps the principal benefit is that a boom in tourism stimulates economic growth considering that it attracts investment from multinational companies and governments across the globe. Furthermore, the advancement of the tourism industry often creates a multitude of employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructure, which makes it possible for local residents to have an improved standard of living. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for the tourism sector, there would be much higher unemployment in a myriad of well-known cities amongst overseas visitors, such as Paris and Venice. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of global tourism.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that developments in global tourism merely bring with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that a growth in tourism poses a threat to the local environment as a large number of foreign travellers generate a huge deal of waste. As an illustration, one notable natural heritage site designated by UNESCO in South Korea had more than 500 species of birds in 2010. However, the majority of these species became extinct due to garbage produced by overseas tourists, causing harm to their habitats. This exerts a detrimental influence on the quality of local inhabitants' lives. Furthermore, some foreign travellers commit vandalism, which imposes a heavy burden on local governments given that they have to spend an astronomical amount of public money in order to restore damaged amenities. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for several of the arguments in favour of tourism.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.