Q4 Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of studying a foreign language has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that travelling and working abroad are not the sole reasons for learning a second language, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people only acquire a foreign language so as to taking overseas trips and job postings do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having a tight grasp of a language other than one’s mother tongue could facilitate various aspects of travelling to a foreign country, from buying food to organising cultural activities. In addition, people who are fluent in a second language are more likely to find well-paying employment opportunities considering that in the era of globalisation, the majority of international companies have a predisposition to hire multilingual job seekers. This is because global corporations often dispatch their employees to a foreign nation where they have branches.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that travelling and working abroad are the sole motivations for becoming fluent in different languages. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that having a deeper understanding of a foreign language makes it possible for people to access numerous pieces of invaluable information with greater ease. As a brief illustration, scientists can gain a great deal of useful knowledge by reading books and articles which are written in common languages, such as English, on the Internet. In addition, foreign language proficiency can broaden people’s perspectives. To be more specific, multilingual individuals are able to build strong relationships with foreigners as the language barrier does not prevent them from connecting with each other, which enables them not only to understand cultural diversity but also to become more open to different backgrounds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that there are other reasons why people are willing to learn other languages for the reasons discussed above.