Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of social media has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that social networking services pose a threat to individual people as well as society, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from social networking sites. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the development of social media has revolutionised the way people communicate with others regardless of time and place, considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. Furthermore, people can share interests with their acquaintances anywhere and at any time, leading them to build a strong relationship with each other and could even make them feel a sense of belonging. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that social media benefit users a great deal.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that social media merely bring with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that teenage boys and girls who are more likely to have difficulty distinguishing right from wrong can be easily exposed to the dangers of crimes since offenders are able to target them with greater ease by creating fake profiles online. In addition, there is a possibility that a multitude of users can become addicted to the Internet, which often exerts a detrimental influence on not only their performance at work or school as they suffer from concentrating on their work or studies. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.