Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of history education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that more emphasis should be placed on history as a school subject than other subjects, such as science and technology, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the latter stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that teaching history is crucial rather than science and technology do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the education of history makes it possible for people to reflect on our ancestors' misbehaviour, preventing them from committing the same mistakes that happened in the past, including imperialism and colonization. Furthermore, people should take responsibility for bequeathing history to future generations considering that not only can history education allow them to feel a sense of belonging to their mother country, but they are also able to have patriotism.

My opinion, however, is that people can benefit a lot more from studying science and technology. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that in this technologically-advanced era, graduates who majored in science and technology are more likely to find a multitude of well-paying and prestigious employment opportunities because these people are more in demand in the job market. In addition, science and technology exert a positive influence on human beings. To be more specific, having a deeper understanding of knowledge about science enables people to devise groundbreaking solutions to a multitude of practical and social problems. As a brief illustration, science and technology can alleviate global hunger, lessen the impact of global warming, and save lives, which results in people having an improved standard of living. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that educating pupils about science and technology should be prioritised for the reasons discussed above.