Q: In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe that the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to spend public money has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that improving existing public transport should take precedence over building a new, faster railway line, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that the government should make use of public funds in order to set up new railway systems for bullet trains do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the introduction of these systems could facilitate the nationwide transport of goods and passengers. To be more specific, not only can people with relatives in other parts of the country meet each other with greater ease, but parcels are able to be delivered quickly. In addition, the advent of new railway lines leads to a boom in domestic tourism, which invigorates economic growth in local areas and makes it possible for citizens to lead a better life.

My opinion, however, is that an emphasis should be placed on ameliorating existing transport systems, compared to establishing new railway lines for bullet trains. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that current public transport systems have a predisposition to play an important role in locals' daily life, such as commuting to and from work. In other words, an increase in the quality of these systems would exert a more significant impact on their well-being. Furthermore, spending public funding on new railway lines puts a heavy burden on the masses considering that an astronomical amount of tax money is required so as to build these lines. To exemplify, research conducted by the government of China has demonstrated the amount of tax money dedicated to erecting new bullet train lines is predicted three times higher than updating current transport systems. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that upgrading current transport systems should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.