Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, an increase in online meetings and sessions for employees has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to participating in business meetings on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that a multitude of workers benefit a great deal from partaking in online meetings and training sessions do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that online meetings make it possible for co-workers to communicate with each other anywhere since an environment where they can access the Internet is only needed. Furthermore, they are able to save their time considering that commuting to and from work deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on devotion to work.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that holding online meetings for workers merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that these meetings often prevent working adults from receiving instant feedback from their colleagues with greater ease, leading them to have difficulty concentrating on their meetings. In other words, a large number of working people are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their duties, which can even exert a negative influence on their work performances. In addition, if it were not for face-to-face meetings for employees, it would be nearly impossible for them to build a strong relationship with not only their colleagues but also senior managers who help them to acquire interpersonal skills that are beneficial for their careers. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace enables them to feel a sense of belonging and to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of attending online meetings surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.