Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of punishment has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that harsh punishment should be imposed on young criminals who perpetrate serious offences in the same way as adults, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, those who claim that juvenile delinquents should be penalised as harshly as adults do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that they need to learn that not only do their actions have consequences, but illegal behaviour will not be tolerated. To provide a hypothetical example, if other impressionable people witnessed their peers receiving punishment for unlawful activities, they would be less likely to perpetrate crimes that may lead them to be incarcerated in jail, meaning that harsh punishment could act as a deterrent.

My opinion, however, is that teenage criminals should not receive the same penalties as adult criminals. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that the youth are generally less able to distinguish between right and wrong than adults. Thus, obliging young criminals to take the same responsibility for their crimes as adults is unfair. Another convincing reason is that adolescents should have a chance to change and to become law-abiding citizens. If they are punished severely, then this opportunity might be lost and they might enter into a life of crime, which exerts a detrimental influence on our society. Therefore, other methods as punishment, such as vocational training and community service, should be imposed on young offenders in order to help them reintegrate back into society. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that depriving youngsters of opportunities to reflect on their crimes by inflicting the same punishment on them as adults should be discouraged for the reasons discussed above.